Republic of Tyva

Senators by region

Dina Oyun Dina Oyun
member of the Federation Council Committee on the Budget and Financial Markets
Lyudmila Narusova Lyudmila Narusova
Member of the Federation Council Committee on Constitutional Legislation and State Building

Information

Regional flags and emblems

Republic of Tyva Republic of Tyva

PROFILE

Established 17 August 1944

Capital Kyzyl

The Republic of Tyva is part of the Siberian Federal District

Area 168,600 sq km

Population 332,5 (2022)

Ethnic groups

(2010 National Census, %)

Tyvan – 82.04

Russian – 16.27

Other – 3.01

Administrative divisions (2022)

Municipal districts – 17

City districts – 2

Rural towns – 4

Rural districts – 120

Geography and climate

The Republic of Tyva is in the central part of Asia. The maximum north-south distance is 420 km, the east-west distance is 630 km.

The republic borders on the republics of Khakassia, Buryatia, Altai, the Krasnoyarsk Territory and the Irkutsk Region. It also shares an international border with Mongolia.

There are over 2,000 rivers and about 6,720 lakes in the Republic of Tyva. There are high altitude lakes located above the forest limits, at the altitudes of 1800–2000 m, the largest of which are Uzun-Kul, Ieri-Khol, and Khindiktig-Khol. The main rivers are: The Ulug-Khem (the Upper Yenisei River) and its tributaries such as the Bolshoy Yenisei (the Biy-Khem) and the Maly Yenisei (the Kaa-Khem).

The climate is extreme continental. January temperatures average –29.6°C. July temperatures average 16.3°C.

There are also two nature reserves (Azas Nature Reserve and Ubsunur Hollow Biosphere Preserve), 5 natural parks, 15 wildlife sanctuaries, and 15 natural landmarks on the republic’s territory.

Government

The legislative branch is represented by the Supreme Khural (Parliament) of the Republic of Tyva which is the permanent and only body of the legislative (representative) branch in the Republic of Tyva .

The Supreme Khural (Parliament) of the Republic of Tyva has 32 deputies, 16 of them run in the republican electoral district, where winners are identified in proportion to the number of votes cast for lists of candidates nominated by electoral associations in accordance with the election legislation, and the other 16 run in single-member constituencies. The current Supreme Khural was elected on September 2019. Its term expires in September 2024.

The executive branch is represented by the Government of the Republic of Tyva which is the top permanent collective body of executive authority in the republic. There is a system of executive bodies in the Republic of Tyva, headed by the Government chaired by the Head and Prime Minister of the Republic of Tyva.

The Head and Prime Minister of the Republic of Tyva is the highest-ranking official in the republic. He is elected for five years by Russian citizens who permanently reside in the region. The term of office of the current incumbent expires in September 2026.

Economy and natural resources

The Republic of Tyva is rich in non-ferrous and rare metals, bituminous coal, asbestos, iron ore, gold, mercury and various construction materials. The total amount of timber resources exceeds 1 billion cubic m.

The main obstacle hindering the economic development of the Republic of Tyva is its unfavourable geographic location which isolates it from the main economic centres and routes. The development of the republic's economy depends on the Kyzyl — Kuragino railway line construction project and the development of the republic's mineral resources.

The largest industry is mining which is based on the republic’s mineral deposits. The production volumes have increased thanks to such companies as Mezhegeyugol, Lunsin (polymetallic ores), and Tardan-Gold. Tyva Ore Mining Company carries out coal production at Kaa-Khem and Chadan coal mines and is the largest coal producer in the Republic of Tyva.

One of the most promising projects is carried out by Tyva Energy Industrial Corporation which is developing the Elegest coal deposit on the republic's territory. It is also a private investor involved in the construction project for the Elegest — Kyzyl — Kuragino railway line and a coal port terminal in the Russian Far East.

Other well-developed fields include food, timber, woodworking, as well as light industries. The largest share in the production of clothing in the republic belongs to Kyzyl UPP.

Agriculture is the most important branch of the republic’s economy which determines the lifestyle of over 144,500 people who live in rural districts (over 45% of Tyva’s population). Agricultural lands occupy almost 28% of the republic’s territory. The main local agricultural industries include the breeding of beef and dairy cattle, sheep, goats, pigs, horses, deer, oxen and camels. There is also poultry and blue fox (for fur trade) farming.

Culture and tourism

The Republic of Tyva is located in the central part of Asia. There is a monument indicating the geographical centre of the Asian continent in Kyzyl, on the left bank of the Ulug-Khem River. Another place of interest is the Valley of Tsars surrounded by mountains in the Turano-Yuksk Hollow. This place is home to numerous kurgans – tombs of Skythian tribal and clan leaders.

Near the Mongolian border, high in the mountains, at the altitude of 1,300 m abovesea level there is the Tere-Khol lake. There is an island in this lake which contains a ruined structure of an Uyghur fortress called Por-Bazhyn (which translates from the Tyvan language as “clay house”) built in the 8th century AD under the order of the Uyghur kagan called Eletmish Bilge kagan. The architectural monument has a complicated structure: there is a labyrinth of buildings inside a rectangle which resembles a Buddhist or Hindu mandola.

There are also over ten monuments of cave art with hundreds of drawings. Some of them are located near Kyzyl, including Small Bayan-Kol, Syyn-Churek, Ortaa-Sargol, Bizhiktig-Khaya, Chirgaki petroglyphs in the Khemchik River valley, Saryg-Dash, and the right bank of the Yenisei River, such as the oldest Skythian culture monument – the Arzhan kurgan, and the Orkhon inscriptions which are very popular with tourists.

The ethnographic diversity of the Republic of Tyva is represented by the Russian Old Believers, shamanistic rituals, the traditional form of wrestling called Khuresh, an opportunity to live in a real yurta (nomad’s tent) and to imagine that you are an ancient nomad. The Tyvan people practice the art of Khorekteer (Tyvan throat singing).

The following religions are widespread among the people of Tyva: Orthodoxy and Buddhism (Lamaism) as well as shamanism. There are 17 Buddhist temples in Tyva and one khuree (Buddhist monastery). Shamanism is mostly spread among nomad cattle farmers and hunters. It represents an integral part of the spiritual as well as cultural life of the Tyvan people.

Республика Тыва

Основной отраслью промышленности является добывающая промышленность и энергетика. Значительно развита также пищевая, лесная и деревообрабатывающая промышленность. Площадь сельхозугодий составляет свыше 3,4 млн. га.

Сенаторы региона

Бурико Оксана Михайловна Бурико
Оксана Михайловна
Член Комитета Совета Федерации по обороне и безопасности
Нарусова Людмила Борисовна Нарусова
Людмила Борисовна
Член Комитета Совета Федерации по конституционному законодательству и государственному строительству

Власть в регионе

Даваа
Кан-оол Тимурович
Председатель Верховного Хурала (парламента) Республики Тыва
Кара-оол
Шолбан Валерьевич
Глава - Председатель Правительства Республики Тыва

Cообщения о работе региона

Информация

Флаг и герб региона

Республика Тыва Республика Тыва

Дата образования — 17 августа 1944 года

Административный центр – г. Кызыл

Республика Тыва находится в пределах Сибирского федерального округа (СФО)

Площадь территории (тыс. кв. км) — 168,6

Население (тыс. чел.) — 321,7 (2018 г.)

В национальный состав населения:

(по данным Всероссийской переписи населения 2010 года), %

тувинцы — 82,04

русские — 16,27

другие национальности — 3,01

Административно — территориальное устройство (2018 г.):

муниципальные районы −17

городские округа — 2

городские поселения — 4

сельские поселения — 120

Географическое положение и природно-климатические условия

Республика Тыва расположена в центральной части Азиатского континента. Протяженность территории с севера на юг — 420 км, с запада на восток — 630 км.

Граничит с Республикой Хакасия, Республикой Бурятия, Республикой Алтай, Красноярским краем и Иркутской областью. Государственная граница с Монголией.

В Республике Тыва более 2000 рек и около 6720 озер. Выделяются высокогорные озера, лежащие выше границы леса, на высоте 1800 – 200 м, наиболее крупные — Узун-Куль, Иери-Холь, Хиндиктиг-Холь. Главные реки: Улуг-Хем (Верхний Енисей) и притоки — Большой Енисей (Бий-Хем) и Малый Енисей (Каа-Хем ).

Климат резко-континентальный. Самый холодный месяц — январь (средняя температура до — 22,5°C), самый теплый — июль (средняя температура до + 19,3°C).

На территории республики расположены: два государственных природных заповедника (»Азас», «Убсунурская котловина» (биосферный), природных парков — 2, заказников — 15, памятников природы — 15).

Система органов государственной власти

Законодательная власть в Республики Тыва осуществляется Верховным Хуралом (парламентом) Республики Тыва, который является постоянно действующим и единственным законодательным (представительным) органом государственной власти Республики Тыва.

Верховный Хурал (парламент) Республики Тыва состоит из 32 депутатов, 16 из которых избираются по республиканскому избирательному округу пропорционально числу голосов, поданных за списки кандидатов в депутаты, выдвинутые избирательными объединениями в соответствии с законодательством о выборах, 16 избираются по одномандатным избирательным округам. Действующий созыв избран 14 сентября 2014 года. Срок окончания полномочий сентябрь 2019 года.

Исполнительная власть в Республики Тыва осуществляется Правительством Республики Тыва, которое является высшим коллегиальным и постоянно действующим исполнительным органом государственной власти Республики Тыва. В Республике Тыва устанавливается система органов исполнительной власти во главе с Правительством Республики Тыва, возглавляемым Главой — Председателем Правительства Республики Тыва.

Глава — Председатель Правительства Республики Тыва высшее должностное лицо Республики Тыва. Избирается на 5 лет. Срок окончания полномочий действующего Главы – Председателя Правительства республики — сентябрь 2021 года.

 

Экономика и природные ресурсы

Недра Республики Тыва богаты рудами цветных и редких металлов, каменным углем, асбестом, железной рудой, золотом, ртутью, разнообразными строительными материалами. Общие запасы древесины превышают 1 млрд куб. м.

Главным препятствием экономического развития республики Тыва является ее невыгодное, изолированное от основных экономических центров и магистралей географическое положение. Для экономики республики большое значение имеет проект строительства железнодорожной линии Кызыл — Курагино в увязке с освоением минерально-сырьевой базы Республики Тыва.

Основная отрасль промышленности горнодобывающая, возникшая на базе месторождений полезных ископаемых. Объемы добычи увеличили ООО «Межегейуголь», ООО «Лунсин» (полиметаллические руды), ООО «Тардан-Голд» (золото). ООО «Тувинская горнорудная компания» осуществляет добычу на Каа-Хемском и Чаданском разрезах и является крупнейшим производителем угля в Республике Тыва. Предприятие входит в структуру En+ Group и управляется холдингом En+ Coal.

Один из самых перспективных проектов осуществляет ЗАО «Тувинская Энергетическая Промышленная Корпорация» которая ведет разработку Элегестского угольного месторождения республики. Является частным инвестором проекта «Строительство железной дороги „Элегест-Кызыл-Курагино“ и угольного портового терминала на Дальнем Востоке в увязке с освоением минерально-сырьевой базы Республики Тыва.

Также развиты пищевая, лесная, деревообрабатывающая, легкая промышленность. Основную долю в производстве продукции швейных изделий республики занимает ООО «Кызылское УПП».

Агропромышленный комплекс — наиболее значимая отрасль экономики республики, определяющая жизненный уклад более 144,5 тыс. человек, проживающих в сельской местности (более 45% общей численности населения Тувы). Сельскохозяйственные угодья занимают до 28% территории республики. Развито животноводство — мясное, молочное скотоводство, овцеводство, козоводство, свиноводство, коневодство, птицеводство, оленеводство, яководство, верблюдоводство, пушной промысел, звероводство (голубой песец).

Культура и туризм

Тыва расположена в центральной части Азиатского материка. На левом берегу реки Улуг-Хем, в городе Кызыле, возведен обелиск «Центр Азии». В Турано-Уюкской котловине в окружении гор расположена «Долина царей». Здесь сосредоточено большое количество курганов, которые являются могилами родовых и племенных вождей скифских времен.

Почти на самой границе с Монголией, в горах на высоте 1300 метров над уровнем моря расположено озеро Тере-Холь. На нем есть остров, на котором сохранились остатки уйгурской крепости Пор-Бажын (по‑тувински — «глиняный дом»), построенной в VIII в. н. э. по приказу главы Уйгурского кагана Элетмиш Бильге-кагана. Памятник имеет сложную архитектуру — внутри правильного прямоугольника находится целый лабиринт зданий, напоминающих собой буддийскую или индуистскую мандолу.

В республике находится более десяти памятников наскального искусства с сотнями рисунков. Некоторые расположенны близ г. Кызыла — Малый Баян-Кол, Сыын-Чурек, Ортаа-Саргол, Бижиктиг-Хая, петроглифы Чиргаки в долине реки Хемчик, Сарыг-Даш и правого берега реки Енисей, древнейший памятник скифской культуры курган Аржаан, наскальные Орхоно-енисейской письменности популярны у туристов.

Разнообразие этнографического колорита Тувы — быт русских староверов, камлание шаманов, национальная борьба «Хуреш», возможность пожить в настоящей юрте и вообразить себя древним кочевником. Народ Тувы владеет мастерством хоректээр (горловое пение).

Среди населения Тувы распространены религии: православие и буддизм в форме ламаизма, а также шаманство. В Туве — 17 буддийских храмов и один хурээ (буддийский монастырь). Шаманство распространено в основном среди кочевников-скотоводов и охотников. Оно является неотъемлемой частью духовной и культурной жизни тувинского народа.