Tver Region

Senators by region

Andrei Yepishin Andrei Yepishin
Deputy Chair of the Federation Council Committee on the Budget and Financial Markets
Lyudmila Skakovskaya Lyudmila Skakovskaya
Member of the Federation Council Committee on Science, Education and Culture

Information

Regional flags and emblems

Tver Region Tver Region

PROFILE

Established 29 January 1935

Capital Tver

The Tver Region is part of the Central Federal District

Area 84,200 sq m

Population 1,228,700 (2022)

Ethnic groups

(2010 National Census, %)

Russian – 93.45

Ukrainian – 1.25

Other – 5.3

Administrative divisions (2022)

Municipal districts – 22

Municipalities – 9

City districts – 11

Rural towns – 30

Rural districts – 161

Geography and climate

The Tver Region lies in the northwest of Russia, extending 350 km from north to south and 450 kilometers east to west.

It borders on the Pskov, Novgorod, Vologda, Yaroslavl, Moscow and Smolensk regions.

There are nearly 1,000 rivers in the region, as well as over 500 lakes, including Seliger, Sterzh, Vselug, Peno and Volga, and nine major reservoirs, including Ivankovo, Uglich, Rybinsk and Vyshnevolotsk. The main rivers are the Volga, Tvertsa, Western Dvina and Mologa.

The climate is temperate continental. The January temperatures average −4.9°C, July temperatures average 16.4°C. Average precipitation in January is 61 mm; average precipitation in July is 117 mm. Winters are warmer and precipitation is more intense in the west of the region.

There are many protected nature areas in the Tver Region. The best known are the Central Forest Biosphere Reserve and the Zavidovo State Complex, of which only part extends into the Tver Region.

Government

The legislative branch is represented by the Legislative Assembly of the Tver Region, which is the permanent, supreme and only body of legislative (representative) authority in the region.

The Legislative Assembly of the Tver Region has 40 deputies elected for five years, with 20 of them running in single-mandate constituencies and the other 20 running on party tickets.

The current Legislative Assembly was elected in September 2021. Its term expires in September 2026.

The executive branch is the Government of the Tver Region, the top permanent executive authority in the region, regional executive authorities, representatives of the Government of the Tver Region and other executive authorities.

The Governor of the Tver Region is the region’s highest-ranking official elected for five years by Russian citizens who permanently reside in the region. The Governor is the head of the regional government and manages its work. The term of office of the current incumbent expires in September 2026.

Economy and natural resources

The Tver Region’s economy is based on the industrial, construction and energy sectors, as well as wholesale and retail trade and the transport and communications sectors.

The emphasis on industry is an important factor in the economic development of the region. Industrial output accounts for over 30% of the regional GDP. The major industries include machine building, the food, pulp and paper, chemical and power industries, employing a quarter of the region’s workforce. Some of the region-based plants are of national importance.

The majority of local defense plants is consolidated in large integrated complexes and is tasked by the Defense Ministry to address high technology issues. The leading defense plants include the Savyolovsky Machine Building Plant; Spetstekhnika; Zavod MARS; Zavod Luch; Zavod Mikropribor; Zavod Zvezda, a branch of the Pilyugin Automation and Instrument Making Research and Production Centre; Aviation Repairs Plant No. 514, and Kalyazinsky Engineering Plant.

Agriculture accounts for about 7% of the regional GDP. The agricultural sector brings together agricultural enterprises with different forms of ownership, as well as farms specializing in crop production and livestock breeding. The sector mainly focuses on livestock breeding, raising meat and dairy cattle, sheep, pigs, goats and poultry. Crop production is focused on growing flax, potato, vegetables and fodder crops. The region is the country’s major flax growing area. The region has a unique enterprise, SNAIP, which produces kumis, fermented mare’s milk.

About 54,000 small and mid-sized businesses, over half of which are self-employed entrepreneurs, are making a considerable contribution to the economic development of the region.

To develop the manufacturing sector, the region has focused on the creation of industrial sites and industrial parks that will primarily accommodate new manufacturing facilities. Today, there are six industrial parks and about a dozen investment sites in the region.

Culture and tourism

The Tver Region has a unique cultural identity and has made an invaluable contribution to the Russian culture. It ranks high among the regions with the richest cultural heritage.

Cultural heritage sites include unique world-famous landmarks, such as the Nilov Monastery on Island Stolobny in the Ostashkovo District; the Assumption Monastery in the city of Staritsa; the Znamenskoye-Rayok mansion in the Torzhok District; the Bernovo History and Nature Reserve, which has many associations with the life and work of Alexander Pushkin; and the wooden Church of St John the Baptist in the village of Shirokovo, Penovsky District. The oldest cities in the region, Torzhok, Toropets, Bezhetsk and Tver, were founded over eight centuries ago.

Since time immemorial cities in the Tver Region have been national centers of decorative needlework, gold thread work, lace-making and tile decoration.

The rich historical and cultural heritage of the region makes it an attractive tourist destination. Visitors can take advantage of fascinating and informative itineraries that increase public awareness of local culture. Today, efforts are being made to bring a new lease on life to the world-famous Pushkin Ring Along the Upper Volga Area project, which includes Tver, Torzhok and the Torzhok and Staritsa districts, the places closely associated with the life and work of Alexander Pushkin.

Every year, the Tver Region hosts many major international, national and regional events, such as the Bach International Festival, the Singing Letters Slavonic Poetry International Festival and the Musorgsky Russian Opera Festival, I see a wonderful Land Music Festival and so on.

Тверская область

Сенаторы региона

Епишин Андрей Николаевич Епишин
Андрей Николаевич
Заместитель председателя Комитета Совета Федерации по бюджету и финансовым рынкам
Скаковская Людмила Николаевна Скаковская
Людмила Николаевна
Заместитель председателя Комитета Совета Федерации по науке, образованию и культуре

Власть в регионе

Голубев
Сергей Анатольевич
Председатель Законодательного Собрания Тверской области
Руденя
Игорь Михайлович
Губернатор Тверской области

События Cообщения о работе региона

Информация

Флаг и герб региона

Тверская область Тверская область

ОБЩИЕ СВЕДЕНИЯ

Дата образования – 29 января 1935 года

Административный центр – г. Тверь

Тверская область находится в пределах Центрального федерального округа

Площадь территории (тыс. кв. км.) – 84,2

Население (тыс. чел.) – 1228,7 (2022 г.)

Национальный состав населения

(по данным Всероссийской переписи населения 2010 г., %):

русские – 93,45

украинцы – 1,25

другие национальности – 5,3

Административно-территориальное устройство (2022 г.):

муниципальные районы – 22

муниципальные округа – 9

городские округа – 11

городские поселения – 30

сельские поселения – 161

Географическое положение и природно-климатические условия

Область расположена в северо-западной части России. Протяженность территории с севера на юг 350 км, с запада на восток 450 км.

Граничит с Псковской, Новгородской, Вологодской, Ярославской, Московской, Смоленской областями.

В области около 1000 рек, более 500 озёр (Селигер, Стерж, Вселуг, Пено, Волга и др.), 9 крупных водохранилищ (Иваньковское, Угличское, Рыбинское, Вышневолоцкое и др). Главные реки – Волга, Тверца, Западная Двина, Молога.

Климат умеренно континентальный. Средняя температура января – минус 4,9°C, июля – плюс 16,4°C. Среднее количество осадков в январе – 61 мм, в июле – 117 мм. Западная часть отличается несколько более теплой зимой и повышенной влажностью.

На территории Тверской области находится множество заповедных мест. Самые известные из них – Центрально-Лесной государственный природный биосферный заповедник и государственный комплекс со статусом национального парка «Завидово».

Система органов государственной власти

Законодательная власть в Тверской области осуществляется Законодательным Собранием Тверской области, которое является постоянно действующим высшим и единственным законодательным (представительным) органом государственной власти области.

Законодательное Собрание Тверской области состоит из 40 депутатов, избираемых сроком на пять лет. 20 – избираются по одномандатным округам, 20 – по партийным спискам.

Действующий состав Законодательного Собрания области избран в сентябре 2021 года. Срок окончания полномочий – сентябрь 2026 года.

Исполнительную власть в Тверской области осуществляют Правительство Тверской области – постоянно действующий высший исполнительный орган государственной власти Тверской области, областные исполнительные органы государственной власти области, представительства Правительства Тверской области, территориальные исполнительные органы государственной власти области.

Губернатор Тверской области является высшим должностным лицом области, возглавляет Правительство области и руководит его работой. Избирается гражданами Российской Федерации, проживающими на территории области, на срок пять лет. Срок окончания полномочий действующего губернатора – сентябрь 2026 года.

Экономика и природные ресурсы

Основу экономики Тверской области составляют промышленный, строительный, топливно-энергетический комплексы, оптовая и розничная торговля, транспорт и связь.

Высокий уровень индустриализации является важной особенностью экономической специализации Тверской области. Промышленное производство обеспечивает около 30% валового регионального продукта и представлено машиностроением, пищевой, целлюлозно-бумажной, химической промышленностью, электроэнергетикой и др. Промышленное производство обеспечивает занятость четверти трудовых ресурсов субъекта. В Тверской области работают предприятия общероссийского значения.

Большинство тверских предприятий оборонно-промышленного комплекса входят в состав мощных интегрированных структур и решают высокотехнологичные задачи в интересах Министерства обороны Российской Федерации. Основу комплекса составляют ООО «Савеловский машиностроительный завод», АО «Спецтехника», АО «Завод „МАРС“, АО „Завод „Луч“, АО „ЗАВОД МИКРОПРИБОР“, Филиал ФГУП „НПЦ автоматики и приборостроения имени академика Н.А. Пилюгина“ – Завод „Звезда“, АО „514 авиационный ремонтный завод“, ООО „Механический завод „Калязинский“ и др.

В сельском хозяйстве создается порядка 7% валового регионального продукта. Агропромышленный комплекс области включает сельскохозяйственные предприятия различных форм собственности и фермерские хозяйства, производящие продукцию растениеводства и животноводства. Сельское хозяйство имеет животноводческую направленность. Разводят крупный рогатый скот молочно-мясного направления, овец, свиней, коз, птицу. Растениеводство специализируется на выращивании льна-долгунца, картофеля, овощей, кормовых культур. Тверская область – крупнейший льносеющий регион страны. Уникальным предприятием Тверской области является ООО «СНАЙП», производящее кумыс из кобыльего молока.

Малое и среднее предпринимательство оказывает значительный вклад в развитие экономики Тверской области. В регионе осуществляют деятельность около 54 тысяч субъектов малого и среднего предпринимательства, из них более половины – индивидуальные предприниматели.

В целях развития производственного сектора региона формируются промышленные площадки и индустриальные парки и, в первую очередь, для размещения новых видов производств. В настоящее время на территории Тверской области действуют 6 индустриальных парков и более десяти инвестиционных площадок.

Культура и туризм

Тверская область обладает уникальной культурной самобытностью и внесла значительный вклад в сокровищницу российской культуры. Среди объектов культурного наследия такие уникальные и всемирно известные памятники, как монастырь Нилова Пустынь на острове Столбном в Осташковском районе, Успенский монастырь в городе Старица, усадьба Знаменское-Раек в Торжокском районе, Берновский историко-природный заказник, связанный с жизнью и творчеством А.С. Пушкина, деревянная церковь Иоанна Предтечи в деревне Ширково Пеновского района и другие. Старейшие из городов (Торжок, Торопец, Бежецк, Тверь) насчитывают более восьми веков.

Издавна тверские города приобрели значение общерусских центров художественной вышивки, золотого шитья, кружевоплетения и изразцового дела.

Богатый историко-культурный потенциал региона позволяет активно развивать туризм, создавать интересные, познавательные культурологические маршруты. В настоящее время возрождается всемирно известное «Пушкинское кольцо Верхневолжья», включающее в себя города Тверь, Торжок, Торжокский и Старицкий районы, связанные с жизнью и творчеством А.С. Пушкина.

Тверская область является сегодня средоточием событий общероссийского и межнационального значения. Ежегодно в регионе проводится множество крупных международных, всероссийских и региональных мероприятий. Среди них международные фестивали – И.С. Баха, славянской поэзии «Поющие письмена»; фестивали – русской оперы им. М.П. Мусоргского, «Вижу чудное приволье» и другие.