Chuvash Republic

Senators by region

Nikolai Fyodorov Nikolai Fyodorov
Member of the Federation Council Committee on Constitutional Legislation and State Building
Nikolay Vladimirov Nikolay Vladimirov
Member of the Federation Council Committee on Constitutional Legislation and State Building

Information

Regional flags and emblems

Chuvash Republic Chuvash Republic

PROFILE

Established 24 June 1920 as Chuvash Autonomous Area; from 1925 Chuvash Autonomous Soviet Socialist Republic, from 1990 Chuvash Soviet Socialist Republic, from 1992 Chuvash Republic.

Capital Cheboksary

The Chuvash Republic is part of the Central Federal District

Area 18,300 sq km

Population 1197,9 (2022)

Ethnic groups

(2010 National Census, %)

Chuvash – 67.7

Russian – 28.86

Tatar – 2.84

Mordvin – 1.08

Other – 1.52

 

Administrative divisions (2022)

Municipal districts – 21

City districts – 5

Rural towns – 7

Rural districts – 284

 

Geography and climate

The region is in the east of the East European Plain, mostly on the right bank of the Volga River, between its tributaries the Sura and Sviyaga. The configuration of terrain is a plain.

The Chuvash Republic borders on the republics of Tatarstan, Mordovia, Mari El, as well as the Nizhny Novgorod and Ulyanovsk regions.

There are over 2,300 rivers, 656 reservoir ponds and 113 lakes. The main rivers are the Sura, Tsivil, Kirya, Bezdna, Kubnya, Bula.

The climate is continental. January temperatures average –11.5°C; July temperatures average 18.6°C.

The republic is home to two state nature reserves, Prisursky and Chavash Varmane, as well as several regional nature sanctuaries and an ethnic and nature park.

Government

The legislative branch is represented by the State Council of the Chuvash Republic, which is the permanent, supreme and only body of legislative authority in the republic.

The State Council has 44 deputies elected for five years, with 22 of them running in single-mandate constituencies and the other 22 in the single electoral district, where winners are identified in proportion to the number of votes cast for lists of candidates nominated by electoral associations. The current State Council of the Chuvash Republic was elected in September 2021. Its term expires in September 2026.

The Chuvash Republic’s executive branch consists of the Head of the Chuvash Republic and the Cabinet of Ministers of the Chuvash Republic.

The Head of the Chuvash Republic is the republic’s highest-ranking official who heads the republic’s executive branch. Russian citizens living in the republic elect the Head of the Chuvash Republic for a five-year term. The term of the current Head of the Chuvash Republic expires in September 2025.

The Cabinet of Ministers of the Chuvash Republic is the supreme permanent executive body of the Chuvash Republic vested with state authority. The Head of the Chuvash Republic appoints the Prime Minister of the Chuvash Republic with the approval of the State Council of the Chuvash Republic.

Economy and natural resources

The industrial complex takes the leading place in the economy of Chuvashia and includes the following types of economic activities: manufacturing (about 87% in the structure of industry), distribution and production of electricity, gas and water, mining.

Mineral and raw material potential of the republic is comprised of large deposits of solid raw materials used for producing masonry and tiles, expanded loam and clay materials, mortar sand, carbonate rocks, rottenstone, gypsum and anhydrite, as well as sand-gravel aggregate, peat and sapropel. Over 50 underground reservoirs of groundwater and mineral groundwater have been identified and explored. Mineral water resources in the republic are practically unlimited, as is the wide range of varieties of water discovered.

Industrial output accounts for about 30% of the regional GDP. Manufacturing is supported by the production of electrical engineering, electronic and optical equipment, machines and equipment, transport vehicles, chemicals and foods. Electrical engineering and chemicals have become the main driver of industry’s growth.

Among the largest industrial enterprises are the Tractor Plants Concern, the Ilyenko ELARA Research and Production Complex, Cheboksary Aggregate Plant, Cheboksary Electric Apparatus Plant.

Chemical and consumer goods industries have a considerable share in the industrial potential of the republic, alongside with engineering.

Novocheboksarsk is a major power industry centre. The Cheboksary Hydroelectric Power Station and Russia’s largest factory that produces solar energy modules using cutting-edge innovative technologies are situated there.

The republic’s agriculture almost completely meets the basic food needs of the population. The main agricultural branches are grain production, potato and hop growing, beef and dairy cattle breeding, pig breeding, poultry farming and bee farming.

The republic has set up the Corporation for the Development of the Chuvash Republic, which targets the coordination of infrastructure development processes and drafting concrete investment projects for the republic.

Chuvashia is a large transport hub with crisscrossing railroads, motorways and waterways. It also has air and pipeline transport. The main motorway connecting Moscow with Tatarstan, South Urals, Western and Eastern Siberia runs through the territory of the republic.

Culture and tourism

The territory of the Chuvash Republic has rich historical and cultural heritage, with over 700 objects designated as history and cultural monuments. The greatest number of them is situated in the cities of Alatyr, Cheboksary, Mariinksy Posad, Tsivilsk, Yadrin, and the village of Poretskoye.

Many of them are remarkable architectural monuments, such as the 17th century Cathedral of the Presentation in Cheboksary, the 18th century Kievo-Nikolayevsky Convent in Alatyr, the 18th−19th Tikhvinsky Convent in Tsivilsk, and the 19th century Ascension church in Semyonovskoye, Poretsky District. The republic can boast Tigashevo archeology complex, an archaeological monument of the federal significance known far beyond Chuvashia. 

Among places of interests are the Chuvash National Museum, the Museum of Combat Glory, the Republican State Art Museum, the Science and Technology Museum of History of Tractors, the Vasily Chapayev Museum, various archeological monuments of the Abashevo and Balanovo cultures, as well as nature parks and reserves and monasteries and churches.

The Mikhailov International Opera Festival is one of the most impressive cultural events in the republic alongside the Cheboksary International Film Festival.

The Springs of Russia national folk art festival has a special place among cultural events. It is held annually on June 24, Republic Day.

Residents of Chuvashia can enjoy a myriad of tours devoted to health, culture, education, religion, hunting and fishing, and can enjoy cruises and tours on the Volga as well on land by bus.

The Yasna, a centre for domestic and foreign tourists, is an ethnic and environmental complex, which was set up as part of the Creating “Ethnic Chuvashia” Tourist and Recreational Cluster initiative.

Чувашская Республика

Чувашская Республика – это один из динамично развивающихся и инвестиционно-привлекательных регионов Российской Федерации. Это центр, сердце России, место, где переплетаются богатейшая история и культура.

Сенаторы региона

Николаев Вадим Иванович Николаев
Вадим Иванович
Член Комитета Совета Федерации по аграрно-продовольственной политике и природопользованию
Федоров Николай Васильевич Федоров
Николай Васильевич
Первый заместитель Председателя Совета Федерации

Власть в регионе

Егорова
Альбина Егоровна
Председатель Государственного Совета Чувашской Республики
Николаев
Олег Алексеевич
Глава Чувашской Республики

События Cообщения о работе региона

Информация

Флаг и герб региона

Чувашская Республика Чувашская Республика

ОБЩИЕ СВЕДЕНИЯ

Дата образования – 24 июня 1920 г. как Чувашская автономная область, с 1925 г. — Чувашская АССР, с 1990 г. – Чувашская ССР, с 1992 г. – Чувашская Республика.

Административный центр – г. Чебоксары

Чувашская Республика находится в пределах Приволжского федерального округа

Площадь территории (тыс. кв. км.) – 18,3

Население (тыс. чел.) – 1217,8 (2020 г.)

Национальный состав населения

(по данным Всероссийской переписи населения 2010 г.), %:

чуваши – 67,70

русские – 28,86

татары — 2,84

мордва – 1,08

другие национальности — 1,52

Административно-территориальное устройство (2020 г.):

муниципальные районы – 21

городские округа – 5

городские поселения – 7

сельские поселения – 284

Географическое положение и природно-климатические условия

Республика расположена на востоке Восточно-Европейской равнины, преимущественно на правобережье Волги, между притоками Сурой и Свиягой. Рельеф равнинный.

Граничит с Республиками Татарстан, Мордовия, Марий Эл; Нижегородской, Ульяновской областями.

В республике свыше 2300 рек, 656 прудов-водохранилищ, 113 озер. Главные реки: Сура, Цивиль, Киря, Бездна, Кубня, Була.

Климат континентальный. Средняя температура января — минус 11,5°C, июля — плюс 18,6°C.

На территории республики расположены два государственных природных заповедника «Присурский» и «Чаваш вармане», ряд государственных природных заказников регионального значения, этноприродный парк.

Система органов государственной власти

Законодательная власть в республике осуществляется Государственным Советом Чувашской Республики, являющимся постоянно действующим высшим и единственным законодательным (представительным) органом государственной власти республики.

Избирается на 5 лет. Состоит из 44 депутатов, из которых 22 избираются по одномандатным избирательным округам, 22 – по единому избирательному округу пропорционально числу голосов, поданных за списки кандидатов в депутаты, выдвинутые избирательными объединениями. Действующий состав Государственного Совета Чувашской Республики избран в сентябре 2016 года. Срок окончания полномочий – сентябрь 2021 года.

Исполнительную власть в Чувашской Республике осуществляют:

Глава Чувашской Республики — является высшим должностным лицом и главой исполнительной власти республики. Срок полномочий – пять лет. Срок окончания полномочий действующего Главы республики – сентябрь 2020 года.

Кабинет Министров Чувашской Республики — является постоянно действующим высшим исполнительным органом государственной власти Чувашской Республики.

Экономика и природные ресурсы

Минерально-сырьевой потенциал Чувашской республики представлен значительными запасами твердых полезных ископаемых кирпично-черепичного сырья, светложгущихся глин керамзитового сырья, строительных песков, карбонатных пород, трепела, гипса и ангидрита, песчано-гравийной смеси, торфа, сапропеля. Выявлены и разведаны более 50 месторождений подземных вод и месторождения минеральных подземных вод. Ресурсы минеральных вод практически неограничены, в том числе по видовому составу.

Доля промышленного производства в структуре валового регионального продукта республики составляет более 30%. Обрабатывающие производства представлены производством электрооборудования, электронного и оптического оборудования, машин, транспортных средств, химическим производством и производством пищевых продуктов. Основным локомотивом промышленности являются электротехника и химическое производство.

В число крупнейших промышленных предприятий Чувашской Республики входят: концерн «Тракторные заводы», ОАО «Научно-производственный комплекс „ЭЛАРА“ имени Г.А. Ильенко», ОАО «Чебоксарский агрегатный завод» ЗАО «Чебоксарский электроаппаратный завод».

Наряду с машиностроительным комплексом значительное место в промышленном потенциале республики занимают организации химического производства и предприятия легкой промышленности.

В Новочебоксарске находится центр электроэнергетики — Чебоксарская ГЭС и завод ГК «Хевел» по производству солнечных модулей на базе передовых инновационных технологий.

Агропромышленный комплекс республики почти полностью обеспечивает население республики основными видами сельхозпродукции. Основные отрасли сельского хозяйства — производство зерна, картофелеводство, хмелеводство, мясомолочное скотоводство, свиноводство, птицеводство и пчеловодство.

В регионе работает ПАО «Корпорация развития Чувашской Республики», задача которой – координация процессов развития инфраструктуры, привлечение инвестиций и проработка конкретных инвестиционных проектов на территории республики.

Республика является крупным транспортным узлом, в котором пересекаются железнодорожные, водные, основные российские автомобильные магистрали, действует воздушный и трубопроводный транспорт. Через него проходит главная автомагистраль Российской Федерации, соединяющая Москву с Татарстаном, Южным Уралом, Западной и Восточной Сибирью.

Культура и туризм

Территория Чувашской Республики богата памятниками историко-культурного наследия, более 700 объектам присвоен статус памятника истории и культуры. Наибольшее их количество в гг. Алатырь, Чебоксары, Мариинский Посад, Цивильск, Ядрин и с. Порецкое.

Многие из них являются выдающимися памятниками архитектуры: кафедральный Введенский собор (17 в.) в г. Чебоксары, Киево-Николаевский женский монастырь (18 в.) в г. Алатырь, Тихвинский женский монастырь (18–19 вв.) в г. Цивильск, Вознесенская церковь (19 в.) в с. Семеновское Порецкого района (19 в.). На территории республики находится широко известный за пределами Чувашии памятник археологии федерального значения – Тигашевский археологический комплекс (10–12 вв.). 

Среди наиболее известных учреждений культуры: Чувашский национальный музей, музей воинской славы Чувашской Республики, Республиканский государственный художественный музей, музей чувашской вышивки, Научно-технический музей истории трактора, музей В.И. Чапаева, Мемориальный комплекс летчика-космонавта А.Г. Николаева, археологические памятники Абашевской и Балановской культуры, природные парки-заповедники, монастырско-храмовые комплексы.

Одним из ярких культурных событий республики является Международный оперный фестиваль им. М.Д. Михайлова, а также Чебоксарский международный кинофестиваль.

Особое место занимает Всероссийский фестиваль народного творчества «Родники России», который проходит ежегодно 24 июня в День Республики.

В Чувашии организуются оздоровительные, культурные, познавательные, паломнические, охотничьи, рыболовные туры, круизы и прогулочные рейсы по Волге, экскурсионные автобусные туры. 

В рамках проекта «Создание туристско-рекреационного кластера „Этническая Чувашия“ функционирует этноэкологический комплекс „Ясна“ — этнический центр для отечественных и иностранных туристов.