Arkhangelsk Region

Senators by region

Alexander Nekrasov Alexander Nekrasov
Member of the Federation Council Committee on Federal Structure, Regional Policy, Local Government and Northern Affairs
Viktor Novozhilov Viktor Novozhilov
Member of the Federation Council Committee on Agriculture and Food Policy and Environmental Management

Information

Regional flags and emblems

Arkhangelsk Region Arkhangelsk Region

PROFILE

The Arkhangelsk Region includes the territory of another constituent entity of the Russian Federation – the Nenets Autonomous Area.

Established 23 September 1937

Capital Arkhangelsk

The Arkhangelsk Region is part of the Northwestern Federal District

Area 413,100 sq km

Population 1,155,000 (2018)

Population (without counting the Nenets Autonomous Area) – 1068,7 (2022 г.)

Ethnic groups

(2010 National Census,%)

Russian – 95.58

Ukrainian – 1.41

Other – 3.01

Administrative divisions (2018)

Municipal districts – 17

Municipalities – 2

City districts – 7

Rural towns – 19

Rural districts – 146

Geography and climate

The Arkhangelsk Region lies in the northern section of the Eastern European Plain on the shores of the White, Barents and Kara seas. It includes Novaya Zemlya, Franz Josef Land, Solovetsky and other islands.

The region borders on the Republic of Karelia, the Komi Republic, as well as the Kirov and Vologda regions.

The Arkhangelsk Region has numerous lakes and rivers. Almost all rivers, except the Ileksa River and several nearby rivers, are part of the Arctic Ocean basin. The continental watershed between the basins of the Arctic and Atlantic oceans is located in the region’s westernmost section. The largest local rivers include the Severnaya Dvina River with the Vychegda, Pinega and Vaga tributaries, as well as the Onega, Mezen and Pechora Rivers. The region has about 2,500 lakes, most of which are located in the Onega River basin and in the most northeasterly areas of the region. The largest lakes include Lacha, Kenozero and Kozhozero.

The climate is Arctic, sub-Arctic and temperate, but becomes more continental as you move from north to south and from west to east, deeper inside the continent. January temperatures average –5.5° C, July temperatures average + 18.0°C. Mean precipitation in January is 42 mm, compared to 54 mm in July. The vegetation period is 60 days in the far northeast and up to 150 days in the south. The frost-free period is 30–130 days.

Local vegetation includes coniferous forests (fir-trees and pines). The taiga transitions to forest-tundra and tundra in the north.

Soils: tundra-gley, tundra-marsh, peat-gley and low-podzol.

In all, it has 34 nature sanctuaries and 66 natural landmarks, Pinega Nature Reserve, Kenozero National Park, Russian Arctic National Park and Onezhskoye Pomorye National Park are located in the Arkhangelsk Region.

Government

The legislative branch is represented by the Arkhangelsk Region Assembly of Deputies which is the permanent, supreme and only body of legislative authority in the region.

The Arkhangelsk Region Assembly of Deputies has 47 deputies, elected for five years, with 24 of them running in single-member constituencies and the other 23 in the single electoral district, where winners are determined in proportion to the number of votes cast for lists of candidates nominated by electoral associations.

The incumbent Arkhangelsk Region Assembly of Deputies was elected in September 2018. Its term expires in September 2023.

The executive branch is the Government of the Arkhangelsk Region, formed by the Governor of the Arkhangelsk Region and headed by the First Deputy Governor of the Arkhangelsk Region/Chairman of the Government of the Arkhangelsk Region; there are some other executive authorities as well.

The Governor of the Arkhangelsk Region is the region’s highest-ranking official who guides the work of the Government of the Arkhangelsk Region. He is elected for five years by Russian citizens who permanently reside in the region. The term of the incumbent Governor expires in September 2025.

The Government of the Arkhangelsk Region is the supreme permanent collective executive body vested with general authority. It heads the region’s executive branch.

Economy and natural resources

The Arkhangelsk Region ranks among the Russian Federation’s most heavily industrialised regions. The region has become a venue for large-scale investment projects. A huge shipbuilding cluster is being established in the region. Private farms are coming back, and new production facilities in the bioenergy and prefab housing industries are being set up.

The wood-processing and pulp-and-paper industries continue to expand. The Arkhangelsk Pulp and Paper Mill and the Kotlas Pulp and Paper Mill also work with investment capital, allowing them to master the production of new goods and to expand output every year.

Machine-building, shipbuilding and ship-repair companies are the main regional taxpayers. These companies manufacture warships and civilian vessels, oil and gas production equipment, as well as machinery for the timber and wood-processing industries.

Agricultural development priorities are milk and crop production. Main areas of focus in the latter are fodder for cattle (an insignificant amount of grain crops, annual and perennial grasses), and seed-grade and food-grade potatoes.

The territorial State Balance lists two carbonate ore deposits for the glass and pulp-and-paper industries (Shvakinskoye and Ust-Pinezhskoye); two flux limestone deposits (Savinskoye and Shvakinskoye); one dolomite deposit for the metals industry (Yemetskoye); two mineral paint deposits (Konoshskoye and Sinegorskoye); one iodide deposit (Severodvinskoye); three carbonate ore deposits for the liming of acid soils (Kilinskoye, Obozyorskoye and Rodnichnoye); peat deposits.

It is impossible to expand industrial production without a modern transport system. Renovation of the M8 federal motorway in the Arkhangelsk Region, bridge repairs and the improvement of city streets are called on to reduce transport outlays, expand trade, make the transport system more comfortable and make life safer for the region’s residents.

Culture and tourism

The region has many special spots, including mighty rivers and sparkling clean lakes, enchanting northern forests and the austere White Sea, snow-bound Pomor villages, old churches and towering monasteries.

Arkhangelsk blends historical architecture with new developments. Some Solombala districts still feature wooden walkways like in the 19th century. The city embankment offers mesmerising views of the Severnaya Dvina River, and the Chumbarov-Luchinsky pedestrian avenue is lined with wooden mansions that belonged to local merchants.

The open-air Malye Korely Museum of Wooden Architecture is located not far from Arkhangelsk and features hundreds of wooden buildings, including churches, mills, granaries and peasant huts, relocated here from all over the region.

Kargopol, an ancient city famous for its well-proportioned churches and traditionally laidback Russian lifestyle, is located in the region’s south. Another city, Solvychegodsk, is renowned for its churches and curative mineral springs.

The nature of the North has a uniquely restrained and quiet beauty. One can feel the soul of ancient Rus, known only from fairy tales and sagas, lurking in the clear lakes and ancient forests of the Kenozerye and Pinezhye areas. A trip to Kii Island in the White Sea offers a break from the hustle and bustle of civilisation.

The Solovetsky Islands Archipelago, the gem of the Russian North, features churches and hermit communities for monks, old stone mazes and sparkling Lake Svyatoye.

No matter the season, there is always a lot going on in the Arkhangelsk Region. Tourists can attend folk festivals, visit the Pomorye Fair and take in the best European performers.

Every winter, Kargopol hosts the annual Crystal Bells bell-ringing festival, the only one in Russia. Malye Korely, Ustye and Kargopol host big celebrations for Christmastide, Orthodox Christmas and New Year’s Eve. Each winter, the region hosts major skiing and bandy competitions.

After the long northern winter, local people go all out for the Maslenitsa holiday. Arkhangelsk also hosts the Big Easter Art Festival. And every April, the region’s capital hosts the European Spring and Arkhangelsk Blues international festivals involving world-class performers.

Arkhangelsk has been hosting the International Festival of Street Theatres, the main local event of the summer season, for the past 20 years. Local squares, parks and roads swarm with the best European street performers, clowns, musicians, jugglers and magicians.

Lovers of nature, music and the peculiar Pomor lifestyle should attend the Taibola art festival on the White Sea coast. Every autumn, the region hosts fairs, harvest celebrations and folk-art festivals. For a taste of history, you can participate in the ancient traditions of Pomor New Year, like wreath making and launching burning rafts on the river.

Arkhangelsk annually hosts the Vladimir Rezitsky international jazz festival, also known as the Days of Jazz, featuring the best Russian jazz musicians.

The Arkhangelsk Region is a great place for cycling, canoeing, catamaraning, rafting, kayaking, hunting, fishing, hiking, spelunking and cross-country skiing. Advanced skiers will enjoy the well-equipped stadiums and downhill skiing courses equipped with lifts.

Архангельская область

Сенаторы региона

Некрасов Александр Николаевич Некрасов
Александр Николаевич
Член Комитета Совета Федерации по Регламенту и организации парламентской деятельности
Новожилов Виктор Феодосьевич Новожилов
Виктор Феодосьевич
Член Комитета Совета Федерации по аграрно-продовольственной политике и природопользованию

Власть в регионе

Прокопьева
Екатерина Владимировна
Председатель Архангельского областного Собрания депутатов
Цыбульский
Александр Витальевич
Губернатор Архангельской области

События Cообщения о работе региона

Информация

Флаг и герб региона

Архангельская область Архангельская область

ОБЩИЕ СВЕДЕНИЯ

В состав Архангельской области территориально входит субъект Российской Федерации – Ненецкий автономный округ

Дата образования – 23 сентября 1937 года

Административный центр – город Архангельск

Архангельская область находится в пределах Северо-Западного федерального округа

Площадь территории (тыс. кв. км) – 413,1

Население (без Ненецкого автономного округа) (тыс. чел.)  1068,7 (2022 г.)

Национальный состав населения

(по данным Всероссийской переписи населения 2010 года, %):

русские – 95,58

украинцы – 1,41

другие национальности – 3,01

Административно-территориальное устройство (2022 год):

муниципальные районы – 17

муниципальные округа – 2

городские округа – 7

городские поселения – 19

сельские поселения – 146

Географическое положение и природно-климатические условия

Архангельская область расположена на севере Восточно-Европейской равнины. Омывается Белым, Баренцевым и Карским морями. Включает острова: Новая Земля, Земля Франца-Иосифа, Соловецкие и др.

Область граничит с субъектами Российской Федерации – Республиками Карелия, Коми, а также Кировской, Вологодской областями.

В области густая сеть рек и озёр. Почти все реки (кроме реки Илексы и нескольких соседних) относятся к бассейну Северного Ледовитого океана. По крайней западной части области проходит континентальный водораздел между бассейнами Северного Ледовитого и Атлантического океанов. Крупнейшие реки: Северная Двина (с притоками Вычегда, Пинега и Вага), Онега, Мезень и Печора. На территории области около 2,5 тыс. озёр, особенно много их в бассейне Онеги и на крайнем северо-востоке. Наиболее крупные озёра – Лача, Кенозеро и Кожозеро.

Климат: арктический, субарктический и умеренный. Континентальность климата увеличивается по мере продвижения вглубь материка с севера на юг и с запада на восток. Средняя температура января – минус 6,5°C, июля – плюс 18,0°C. Среднее количество осадков в январе –42°мм, в июле – 54°мм. Вегетационный период продолжается 60 дней на крайнем северо-востоке и до 150 дней на юге. Безморозный период составляет 30–130 дней.

Растительность: хвойные леса (ель, сосна). К северу тайга переходит в лесотундру и тундру.

Почвы: тундрово-глеевые, тундрово-болотные, торфяно-глеевые и слабоподзолистые.

На территории Архангельской области расположены: государственный природный заповедник «Пинежский», Кенозерский национальный парк, национальные парки «Русская Арктика» и «Онежское Поморье», 34 заказника, 66 памятников природы.

Система органов государственной власти

Законодательная власть в Архангельской области осуществляется Архангельским областным Собранием депутатов, который является постоянно действующим высшим и единственным законодательным (представительным) органом государственной власти области.

Архангельское областное Собрание депутатов состоит из 47 депутатов, избираемых сроком на пять лет. 24 депутата избираются по одномандатным избирательным округам, 23 – по единому избирательному округу пропорционально числу голосов, поданных за списки кандидатов в депутаты, выдвинутые избирательными объединениями.

Действующий состав Собрания депутатов избран в сентябре 2018 года. Срок окончания полномочий – сентябрь 2023 года.

Исполнительную власть в Архангельской области осуществляет высший исполнительный орган государственной власти – Правительство Архангельской области, формируемое Губернатором Архангельской области, и иные исполнительные органы государственной власти Архангельской области. Правительство Архангельской области возглавляется первым заместителем Губернатора Архангельской области – председателем Правительства Архангельской области.

Губернатор Архангельской области является высшим должностным лицом области, определяет основные направления деятельности Правительства Архангельской области. Избирается гражданами Российской Федерации, проживающими на территории области сроком на пять лет. Срок окончания полномочий действующего губернатора области – сентябрь 2025 года.

Правительство Архангельской области является высшим постоянно действующим коллегиальным исполнительным органом государственной власти Архангельской области общей компетенции, возглавляющим систему исполнительных органов государственной власти области.

Экономика и природные ресурсы

Архангельская область — один из развитых индустриальных регионов Российской Федерации. Регион стал площадкой для реализации крупных инвестпроектов. На территории области формируется крупнейший судостроительный кластер. Возрождаются фермерские хозяйства, создаются новые производства в области биоэнергетики и каркасного домостроения.

Получили импульс для развития отрасли деревообработки и целлюлозно-бумажное производство. Гиганты «Архангельский ЦБК» и «Котласский ЦБК» также работают с инвесткапиталом, что позволяет им осваивать выпуск новой продукции и год от года наращивать производство.

Главными налогоплательщиками региона выступают предприятия машиностроения, судостроения и судоремонта. Продукцией предприятий отрасли выступают военные и гражданские суда, техника для нефте- и газодобычи, машины для лесозаготовительной и деревообрабатывающей отраслей.

Основными направлениями развития сельского хозяйства являются молочное животноводство и растениеводство. Растениеводство ориентировано на заготовку кормов для крупного рогатого скота (незначительный клин зерновых культур, однолетние травы, многолетние травы), а также в небольших объемах производятся овощи, семенной и продовольственный картофель.

На территории области имеются: месторождения карбонатного сырья для стекольной и целлюлозно-бумажной промышленности (Швакинское, Усть-Пинежское); месторождения известняков флюсовых (Савинское, Швакинское); месторождение доломитов для металлургии (Емецкое); месторождения минеральных красок (Коношское, Синегорское); месторождение йода (Северодвинское); месторождения карбонатных пород для известкования кислых почв (Килинское, Обозерское, Родничное); месторождения торфа.

Наращивание темпов промышленного производства невозможно без современной транспортной системы. Реконструкция федеральной трассы М8 в Архангельской области, ремонт мостов, обустройство улиц городов призваны снизить транспортные издержки, повысить товарооборот, транспортный комфорт и безопасность для жителей региона.

Культура и туризм

В регионе множество удивительных и особенных мест: полноводные реки и чистейшие озера, чарующие северные леса и суровое Белое море, затерянные в снегах поморские деревни, старинные храмы и величественные монастыри.

Архангельск сочетает в себе черты старого и нового города. В некоторых районах Соломбалы до сих пор можно пройтись по деревянным мостовым, как в XIX веке. С городской набережной открываются завораживающие виды на Северную Двину, а на пешеходном проспекте Чумбарова-Лучинского можно полюбоваться деревянными купеческими усадьбами.

Недалеко от Архангельска под открытым небом находится музей деревянного зодчества Малые Корелы, где собраны сотни старинных построек, привезённых сюда со всего региона: церкви, мельницы, амбары, крестьянские избы.

На юге области расположен Каргополь – старинный город, знаменитый своими стройными церквями и неспешным русским бытом. Другой город, Сольвычегодск, известен храмами и целебными минеральными источниками.

Северная природа обладает особой красотой, сдержанной и тихой. Среди чистейших озёр и вековых лесов Кенозерья и Пинежья можно почувствовать душу древней Руси, давно ушедшей в сказки и былины. А путешествие на Кий-остров в Белом море позволит отдохнуть от шума цивилизации и вечной спешки.

Жемчужина Русского Севера – Соловецкий архипелаг. Здесь есть храмы и монашеские скиты, древние каменные лабиринты и кристально чистое Святое озеро.

Жизнь в Архангельской области наполнена событиями круглый год. Гости региона могут поучаствовать в народных гуляниях, сходить на Поморскую ярмарку, увидеть выступления лучших европейских артистов.

Город Каргополь ежегодно принимает единственный в России зимний фестиваль колокольного искусства «Хрустальные звоны». В Малых Корелах, на Устье, в Каргополе широко отмечают Святки, Рождество и новогодние праздники. Всю зиму в области проходят крупные соревнования по лыжным гонкам и хоккею с мячом.

После долгой северной зимы в области празднуют широкую Масленицу, а столица Поморья встречает Большой Пасхальный фестиваль искусств. В апреле в областном центре проходят международные фестивали «Европейская весна» и «Архангельск Блюз», на которые приезжают артисты мирового уровня.

Главное событие архангельского лета – международный Фестиваль уличных театров. Он проходит в городе ежегодно на протяжении уже двадцати лет. Площади, парки и дороги Архангельска становятся площадками для выступлений лучших европейских уличных артистов, клоунов, музыкантов, жонглеров и фокусников.

Любители природы, музыки и особого поморского быта собираются на побережье Белого моря, чтобы принять участие в арт-фестивале «Тайбола». Осенью по всей области проходят ярмарки, праздники урожая и фольклорные фестивали, а сторонники древних традиций празднуют поморский Новый год по старинным обычаям: плетут венки и спускают в реку горящий плот.

В Архангельске ежегодно проходит международный фестиваль Владимира Резицкого (также известный как «Дни джаза»), в котором принимают участие лучшие музыканты отечественной джазовой сцены.

В Архангельской области ждут любителей велотуризма, водных путешествий на байдарках и катамаранах, поклонников рафтинга и каякинга, охотников и рыболовов, ветеранов пеших походов и спелеологов-энтузиастов. Любители полюбоваться природой могут отправиться в лыжный поход. Знатоков лыжного спорта порадуют подготовленные стадионы и горные спуски, оборудованные подъемниками.