Republic of Altai

Senators by region

Tatyana Gigel Tatyana Gigel
member of the Federation Council Committee on Agriculture and Food Policy and Environmental Management
Vladimir Poletayev Vladimir Poletayev
First Deputy Chair of the Federation Council Committee on Constitutional Legislation and State Building

Information

Regional flags and emblems

Republic of Altai Republic of Altai

PROFILE

Established 1 June 1922 as the Oyrot Autonomous Region

The Gorno-Altaisk Autonomous Region since 1948

The Gorno-Altaisk SSR as part of the RSFSR since 1991

The Republic of Altai since 12 December 1993

Capital Gorno-Altaisk

The Republic of Altai is part of the Siberian Federal District

Area 92,900 sq km

Population 221,400 (2022)

Ethnic groups

(2010 National Census, %)

Russian – 56.6

Altai – 33.9

Kazakh – 6.1

Other – 3.4

 

Administrative divisions (2022)

Municipal districts – 10

City districts – 1

Rural towns – 91

 

Geography and climate

The Republic of Altai is in the highlands of the Altai Mountains in the south of Western Siberia. At its widest points, the republic is 360 km from north to south and 380 km from east to west.

The republic borders on the republics of Tyva and Khakassia, the Altai Territory and the Kemerovo Region. It also has a state border with Kazakhstan, China and Mongolia in the south and southwest.

The terrain is mostly alpine. The highest mountain, Belukha (4,506 m), is the highest point of Siberia.

The Katun and Biya are the main rivers. There are about 7,000 lakes that cover over 600 sq km in total, with Lake Teletskoye being the largest with an area of 230.8 sq km.

The region has a moderate continental climate with cold winters and warm summers. January temperatures average –22.2°C. July temperatures average 14.7°C.

On the territory of the Republic of Altai there are two state nature reserves ”Altai“ and ”Katunsky“, two state natural sanctuaries of regional significance, the National Park ”Sailugemsky“, four nature parks and numerous natural monuments.

Government

The legislative branch is represented by the State Assembly – called the El Kurultai – of the Republic of Altai, which is the highest representative and legislative body of state power in the region.

The El Kurultai has 41 deputies elected for five years, with 30 of them running in single-member constituencies and the other 11 in the single electoral district, where winners are identified in proportion to the number of votes cast for lists of candidates nominated by electoral associations.

The current El Kurultai was elected on 14 September 2019. The term expires in September 2024.

The executive branch is represented by the Government of the Altai Republic, the republic’s highest executive authority.

The Head of the Republic of Altai, Head of Government of the Republic of Altai is the region’s highest-ranking official. The Government of the Republic of Altai is formed by the Head of the Republic of Altai, Head of Government of the Republic of Altai.

The Head of the Republic of Altai, Head of Government of the Republic of Altai is elected for five years by Russian citizens who permanently reside in the region. The term of office of the current incumbent expires in September 2024

Economy and natural resources

Agriculture is among the priority sectors for the republic’s economic development. It accounts for over 18% of the gross regional product, with more than 70% of the population living in rural areas.

The most developed industrial sectors include mining (gold, silver, tungsten, molybdenum, etc.), the non-ferrous metal industry (mercury), timber and wood processing, consumer goods production and the food industry.

Budget-funded sectors (healthcare, education, public administration, etc.) are the largest contributors to the gross regional product.

Sustainable development in the Republic of Altai hinges upon the availability and sustainable use of natural resources, both for recreational purposes and the extraction of raw materials.

The region has a great variety of mineral resources, with gold as its most important mineral. It also boasts unique reserves of rare metals – tungsten, molybdenum, bismuth, cobalt, lithium, tantalum and mercury. Promising silver deposits have been discovered recently. Having completed exploration activities, the region is ready to launch extraction operations at marble, granite stone, iron, bituminous and brown coal deposits.

The Republic of Altai is also rich in timber, offering opportunities for setting up various timber stockpiling and processing operations.

A wide variety of medicinal plants grow in the region with hundreds of thousands of tonnes of gross reserves.

The Republic of Altai is considered one of the best places in West Siberia for hunting.

Culture and tourism

The Republic of Altai’s culture unites rich experience, traditions and spiritual values of previous generations.

The Republic of Altai has much to offer in terms of its historical and cultural heritage too. It has world-famous archaeological monuments, including the Scythian royal burial mounts, cave paintings, ancient settlements and fortresses, irrigation systems and much more. Its mountain regions have the highest concentration of runestone in the country. The republic has over 2,000 registered archaeological sites, with 120 enjoying federal status.

The republic’s museums present many exhibits on culture, history and archaeology, including the Anokhin National Museum of the Republic of Altai in Gorno-Altaisk. The Ethnographic Museum in the village of Verkhny Uimon is also very popular.

The republic’s peoples hold special entertaining events, such as the El Oiyn interregional holiday of the Altai people, the Altai Springs festival of Russian folk art, small indigenous peoples’ Tyuryuk Bairam – the Cedar Holiday, the International Storyteller Kurultai, the Chaga-Bairam folk festival and others.

Unique historical and archaeological landmarks and rich recreation resources provide for the development of almost all kinds of tourism in the region.

About 2 million tourists visit the republic annually and every year the tourist flow increases.

The Republic of Altai is one of the planet’s cleanest areas almost untouched by humans. It has everything necessary for treatment and recreation: highly-ionised air, many sunny days and medicinal flora and fauna.

Tourism is becoming a leading economic sector. The Manzherok Alpine Complex at the foot of the Malaya Sinyukha Mountain is the largest tourism project. The ski trails of various difficulty cover up to 60 km. The complex is open all year round. Visitors can ascend the Malaya Sinyukha Mountain in the summer, go to Lake Manzherok or take various tours.

Lake Teletskoye is very popular among tourists. There are about 20 boarding houses, tourist bases and camp grounds along its shores. This is where the best fishing spots are. Pedestrian, horse, boat and bus tours are also available. The Karakol lake group is another unique natural landmark. The water in each of the seven lakes is different in colour and composition.

Республика Алтай

Сенаторы региона

Гигель Татьяна Анатольевна Гигель
Татьяна Анатольевна
Член Комитета Совета Федерации по аграрно-продовольственной политике и природопользованию
Полетаев Владимир Владимирович Полетаев
Владимир Владимирович
Первый заместитель председателя Комитета Совета Федерации по конституционному законодательству и государственному строительству

Власть в регионе

Кохоев
Артур Павлович
Председатель Государственного Собрания – Эл Курултай Республики Алтай
Хорохордин
Олег Леонидович
Глава Республики Алтай, Председатель Правительства Республики Алтай

События Cообщения о работе региона

Информация

Флаг и герб региона

Республика Алтай Республика Алтай

ОБЩИЕ СВЕДЕНИЯ

Дата образования – 1 июня 1922 года (как Ойротская автономная область, с 1948 г. – Горно-Алтайская автономная область, с 1991 г. – Горно-Алтайская ССР в составе РСФСР), с 12 декабря 1993 года – Республика Алтай

Административный центр – г. Горно-Алтайск

Республика Алтай находится в пределах Сибирского федерального округа

Площадь территории (тыс. кв. км.) – 92,9

Население (тыс. чел.) – 221,4 (2022 г.)

Национальный состав населения

(по данным Всероссийской переписи населения 2010 г., %):

русские – 56,6

алтайцы – 33,9

казахи – 6,1

другие национальности – 3,4

Административно-территориальное устройство (2022 г.):

муниципальные районы – 10

городские округа – 1

сельские поселения – 91

Географическое положение и природно-климатические условия

Республика Алтай расположена на юге Западной Сибири, в высокогорной части Алтая. Протяженность территории с севера на юг составляет 360 км, с запада на восток 380 км.

Республика Алтай граничит с республиками Тыва и Хакасия, Алтайским краем, Кемеровской областью. На юго-западе и юге региона проходит государственная граница с Казахстаном, Китаем и Монголией.

Преобладающий рельеф местности — горный. Самая высокая гора Белуха (4506 м) является высочайшей точкой Сибири.

Главные реки – Катунь и Бия. Имеются около 7 тыс. озер, общей площадью более 600 кв. км. Самое большое озеро – Телецкое озеро, площадь водного зеркала которого составляет 230,8 кв. км.

Климат умеренно-континентальный с холодной зимой и теплым летом. Средняя температура января – минус 22,2°C, июля – плюс 14,7°C.

На территории Республики Алтай расположено два государственных природных заповедника «Алтайский» и «Катунский», два государственных природных заказника регионального значения, национальный парк «Сайлюгемский», четыре природных парка и многочисленные памятники природы.

Система органов государственной власти

Законодательная власть в Республике Алтай осуществляется Государственным Собранием — Эл Курултай Республики Алтай, которое является высшим представительным и законодательным органом государственной власти на территории республики.

Государственное Собрание – Эл Курултай состоит из 41 депутата, которые избираются на пятилетний срок. 30 депутатов избираются по одномандатным избирательным округам, 11 – по единому избирательному округу пропорционально числу голосов избирателей, поданных за списки кандидатов в депутаты, выдвинутых избирательными объединениями.

Действующий состав Государственного Собрания – Эл Курултай избран в сентября 2019 года. Срок окончания полномочий – сентябрь 2024 года.

Исполнительную власть в Республике Алтай осуществляет Правительство Республики Алтай, которое является высшим исполнительным органом государственной власти.

Глава Республики Алтай, Председатель Правительства Республики Алтай является высшим должностным лицом республики. Правительство Республики Алтай формируется Главой Республики Алтай, Председателем Правительства Республики Алтай.

Глава Республики Алтай, Председатель Правительства Республики Алтай избирается гражданами Российской Федерации, проживающими на территории республики, сроком на пять лет. Срок окончания полномочий действующего Главы республики – сентябрь 2024 года.

Экономика и природные ресурсы

Агропромышленный комплекс (АПК) является одним из приоритетных направлений развития экономики республики. В АПК формируется более 18% валового регионального продукта. В сельской местности проживает более 70% населения.

Из отраслей промышленности развиты горнодобывающая (золото, серебро, вольфрам, молибден и др.), цветная металлургия (ртуть), лесная и деревообрабатывающая, легкая и пищевая промышленность.

В бюджетно-финансируемых секторах создается наибольший валовой региональный продукт (здравоохранение, образование, управление и др.).

Устойчивое развитие Республики Алтай тесно связано с наличием и рациональным использованием природных богатств как рекреационных, так и минерально-сырьевых.

Минеральные ресурсы очень разнообразны по видам полезных ископаемых. Наибольшее значение имеет золото. Выявлены уникальные по запасам месторождения редких металлов – вольфрам, молибден, висмут, кобальт, литий, тантал, ртуть. В последние годы обнаружены перспективные месторождения серебра. Разведаны и подготовлены к эксплуатации месторождения мрамора, гранита, железа, каменного и бурого угля.

Богатые лесосырьевые ресурсы обеспечивают условия организации различных производств по заготовке и переработке древесины.

На территории региона произрастают многие виды лекарственных растений, валовые запасы которых составляют сотни тысяч тонн.

Республика Алтай считается одним из лучших охотничьих регионов Западной Сибири.

Культура и туризм

Культура Республики Алтай вобрала в себя богатейший опыт, традиции, духовные ценности, накопленные прежними поколениями.

Республика Алтай обладает богатым историко-культурным наследием. Всемирно известны археологические памятники, в том числе «царские курганы» эпохи скифов, памятники наскального искусства, древние городища, поселения, оросительные системы и многое другое. Горный Алтай занимает ведущее место в стране по количеству рунических надписей на скальных породах. Всего на территории республики учтено более двух тысяч археологических объектов, из них 120 имеют федеральное значение.

Богатейший материал по культуре, истории, археологии собран в музеях Республики Алтай, например, в Национальном музее Республики Алтай имени А.В. Анохина в городе Горно-Алтайске. Также пользуется популярностью Этнографический музей в селе Верхний Уймон.

Проводятся увлекательные праздники народов Республики Алтай, такие как межрегиональный праздник алтайского народа «Эл-Ойын», фестиваль русского народного творчества «Родники Алтая», праздник коренных малочисленных народов «Тюрюк Байрам – Праздник кедра», международный Курултай сказителей, народный праздник «Чага-Байрам» и другие.

Наличие уникальных исторических и археологических памятников, богатых рекреационных ресурсов позволяют развивать на территории региона практически все виды туризма и отдыха.

Ежегодно республику посещают около 2 млн. туристов и с каждым годом туристический поток увеличивается.

Республика Алтай является одним из самых чистых уголков планеты, практически не тронутым хозяйственной деятельностью человека. Здесь имеются все условия для оздоровления и лечения: высокоионизированный воздух, большое количество солнечных дней, лечебные ресурсы растительного и животного происхождения.

Туризм становится одним из ведущих секторов экономики Республики Алтай. Крупнейшим проектом в туристической сфере региона является горнолыжный комплекс «Манжерок» у подножия горы Малая Синюха. На ее склонах организованы трассы различной категории сложности общей протяженностью до 60 км. Комплекс функционирует круглогодично. Летом организуются подъемы на гору Малая Синюха, развлечения на Манжерокском озере, различные экскурсии.

Большой популярностью у туристов пользуется Телецкое озеро, на берегах которого разместились около двадцати пансионатов, турбаз и кемпингов. Здесь находятся лучшие места для рыбалки, проводятся пешие, конные, водные и автобусные экскурсии. Еще одним уникальным природным объектом является каскад Каракольских озер. Вода в каждом из семи озер каскада отличается по цвету и химическому составу.