Federation Council of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation

Procedure of Establishing the Federation Council

Under Article 95, Part 2 of the Constitution of the Russian Federation, the Federation Council of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation is composed of two representatives from every constituent entity of the Russian Federation with one representing the legislative authority and the other the executive authority.

The current procedure for establishing the Federation Council is set forth in Federal Law No. 229-FZ dated 3 December 2012, On the Composition of the Federation Council of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation.


The newly elected legislative (representative) authorities and chief government officials (heads of supreme executive authorities in constituent entities of the Russian Federation) of Russia’s constituent entities confer powers to Federation Council members for the duration of their respective terms.

To qualify as a candidate for Federation Council member, a person must be a citizen of the Russian Federation at least 30 years of age, with an unimpeachable reputation and permanent residence in the relevant constituent entity of the Russian Federation for five years preceding nomination as a candidate for Federation Council member. In cases envisaged by law, the permanent residence requirement may be waived.

The law stipulates a number of cases in which a citizen of the Russian Federation may not be nominated as a Federation Council member, such as holding foreign citizenship or a residence permit or other document confirming the right of a citizen of the Russian Federation to permanent residence on the territory of a foreign state.

Only members of legislative (representative) authorities of constituent entities of the Russian Federation can become Federation Council members representing the relevant legislative (representative) authorities.

When electing the chief government official of a constituent entity of the Russian Federation (head of the supreme executive authority of the constituent entity of the Russian Federation), each candidate to this office submits to the relevant election commission a list of three candidates who meet the requirements and restrictions as per the Federal Law, and one of these three persons is appointed to the Federation Council as a representative of the executive authority of the relevant constituent entity of the Russian Federation, if the candidate to the office of chief government official in the region is elected. Several candidates for the office of chief government official (head of the supreme executive authority of the constituent entity of the Russian Federation) in a constituent entity cannot nominate the same person for the position of Federation Council member representing the constituent entity’s executive authority.

No later than on the day following the enactment of the decision to vest authority in a Federation Council member, the relevant authority of a constituent entity sends the decision to the Federation Council and publishes it on its official website.

The Federation Council is formed and structured on a non-partisan basis. Federation Council members do not form parliamentary groups or party associations.

The status of a member of the Federation Council of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation is detailed in Federal Law No. 3-FZ dated 8 May 1994, On the Status of Members of the Federation Council and State Duma of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation.

Совет Федерации

Порядок формирования Совета Федерации

В соответствии с частью 2 статьи 95 Конституции Российской Федерации в Совет Федерации Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации входят по два представителя от каждого субъекта Российской Федерации: по одному от представительного и исполнительного органов государственной власти.

Действующий в настоящее время порядок формирования Совета Федерации определен Федеральным законом от 3 декабря 2012 № 229-ФЗ «О порядке формирования Совета Федерации Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации».

Наделение полномочиями члена Совета Федерации осуществляется соответственно законодательным (представительным) органом государственной власти субъекта Российской Федерации нового созыва и вновь избранным высшим должностным лицом субъекта Российской Федерации (руководителем высшего исполнительного органа государственной власти субъекта Российской Федерации) на срок полномочий указанного органа.

Кандидатом для наделения полномочиями члена Совета Федерации может быть гражданин Российской Федерации, достигший возраста тридцати лет, обладающий безупречной репутацией и постоянно проживающий на территории соответствующего субъекта Российской Федерации в течение пяти лет, предшествующих выдвижению кандидатом для наделения полномочиями члена Совета Федерации. В предусмотренных законом случаях требование о постоянном проживании на территории субъекта Российской Федерации не применяется.

В законе установлен перечень случаев, когда гражданин Российской Федерации не может быть кандидатом для наделения полномочиями члена Совета Федерации. В частности, не может быть кандидатом гражданин Российской Федерации, имеющий гражданство иностранного государства либо вид на жительство или иной документ, подтверждающий право на постоянное проживание гражданина Российской Федерации на территории иностранного государства.

Кандидатом для наделения полномочиями члена Совета Федерации — представителя от законодательного (представительного) органа государственной власти субъекта Российской Федерации может быть только депутат этого органа.

При проведении выборов высшего должностного лица субъекта Российской Федерации (руководителя высшего исполнительного органа государственной власти субъекта Российской Федерации) каждый кандидат на данную должность представляет три кандидатуры, отвечающие требованиям и ограничениям, предусмотренным законом, одна из которых в случае избрания представившего ее кандидата будет наделена полномочиями члена Совета Федерации — представителя от исполнительного органа государственной власти субъекта Российской Федерации. При этом одна и та же кандидатура для наделения полномочиями члена Совета Федерации — представителя от исполнительного органа государственной власти субъекта Российской Федерации не может быть представлена разными кандидатами на должность высшего должностного лица субъекта Российской Федерации.

Орган государственной власти субъекта Российской Федерации, принявший решение о наделении полномочиями члена Совета Федерации, не позднее дня, следующего за днем вступления решения в силу, направляет его в Совет Федерации и размещает на своем официальном сайте в информационно-телекоммуникационной сети «Интернет».

Совет Федерации формируется и структурируется по непартийному принципу. Члены Совета Федерации не создают фракции и партийные объединения.

Статус члена Совета Федерации Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации определяется Федеральным законом от 8 мая 1994 года №3-ФЗ «О статусе члена Совета Федерации и статусе депутата Государственной Думы Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации»