Inter-parliamentary activities

Parliamentary Assembly of the Collective Security Treaty Organisation (PA CSTO)

The PA CSTO is responsible for inter-parliamentary interaction of the IPA CIS members who are also members of the Collective Security Treaty Organisation (CSTO). The PA CSTO was established by a resolution On Measures for Creating a Parliamentary Dimension of the Collective Security Treaty Organisation at the CIS Inter-Parliamentary Assembly, which was adopted on 16 November 2006 to address the priority goals of the development of the CSTO legal framework within the IPA CIS.

The PA CSTO comprises parliamentary delegations from Armenia, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan. The administrative and legal framework of the PA CSTO is set out in the Provisional Regulations on the Parliamentary Assembly of the Collective Security Treaty Organisation dated 30 March 2007. The PA CSTO Chair and the PA CSTO Council of the heads of parliament (parliament houses) oversee the operation of the PA CSTO. The rotating position of the PA CSTO Chair is held for a period of three years. The Secretariat of the IPA CIS Council has a specialised agency that is responsible for the administrative and technical aspects of the PA CSTO. The operation of this agency is supervised by the Executive Secretary of the PA CSTO. The PA CSTO and its Council meet at least twice a year.

The PA CSTO has three standing commissions on defence and security; on political affairs and international cooperation; and on socioeconomic and legal affairs. The PA CSTO Council has a Working Group on the Standardisation and Coordination of the CSTO Member States’ Legislations and the Expert Advisory Council. The Information and Analysis Centre operates under the PA CSTO.

The documents regulating the activities of the PA CSTO bodies include Regulations of the Council of the CSTO Parliamentary Assembly; Regulations on the Standing Commissions of the CSTO Parliamentary Assembly; Regulations on the Expert Advisory Council at the Council of the CSTO Parliamentary Assembly; Regulations on the Information and Analysis Centre of the CSTO Parliamentary Assembly; and Regulations on the Secretariat of the CSTO Parliamentary Assembly.