Inter-parliamentary activities

Parliamentary Assembly of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (PABSEC)

The Parliamentary Assembly of the Black Sea Economic Cooperation (PABSEC) was established in 1993 on the initiative of Russia and Turkey. It includes parliamentary delegations from the 12 member states of the BSEC: Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Turkey, and Ukraine.

The aim of PABSEC is to provide support for the parliamentary dimension in attaining the goals of the BSEC Organisation and to help procure a legal basis for economic, commercial, social, cultural as well as political cooperation among the member countries. PABSEC members are Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Georgia, Greece, Moldova, Romania, Russia (since 1993), Serbia, Turkey, and Ukraine.

PABSEC comprises 76 parliamentarians appointed by the national parliaments for a period of at least one year, depending on the country's population. The delegation of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation includes 12 people (four members of the Federation Council and eight State Duma deputies).

The operations of PABSEC are governed by the Rules of Procedure. The PABSEC General Assembly is held twice a year (spring and autumn) in the BSEC member country that currently presides in PABSEC and completes each session (which includes meetings of the three PABSEC committees). According to Latin alphabetical order the Parliament Speaker of the country presiding over PABSEC becomes President of the PABSEC and rotates every six months.

The governing body of the Assembly is the Bureau, which is responsible for the effective functioning of the Assembly between the meetings. The Bureau consists of the President and six vice-presidents (elected from among the parliamentarians for a period of 2 years, including one vice-president responsible for financial affairs).

The Standing Committee consists of the President of the Assembly, the vice-presidents, the chairpersons of the three committees and the heads of the national delegations and is responsible for the implementation of the decisions of the Assembly.

The Assembly has three specialised committees: the Economic, Commercial, Technological and Environmental Affairs Committee; the Legal and Political Affairs Committee, and the Cultural, Educational and Social Affairs Committee.

The parliaments of six countries have observer status: Belarus, Egypt, France Germany, Israel, Slovakia, and 13 international organisations: the European Parliament, IPA CIS, PACE, OSCE PA, IPU, NATO PA, PAM, IAO, PUIC, TURKPA, BSPC, the Parliamentary Assembly of the Union Belarus-Russia and the Parliamentary Dimension of the Central European Initiative.

The International Secretariat of the PABSEC, which performs executive and technical functions, is based in Istanbul, Turkey. The Secretary General, who is elected by a double majority vote for a term of five years, manages the work of the secretariat. Asaf Hajiyev of Azerbaijan has been serving as the Secretary General since 30 December 2014. The secretariat consists of the three deputy general secretaries, three secretaries of the assembly committees, secretary for the press and information, and an archivist − each representing one of the BSEC countries elected for a period of three years on the recommendation of national delegations.