Inter-parliamentary activities

Asian Parliamentary Assembly (APA)

The Asian Parliamentary Assembly (APA) is an international parliamentary organisation set up at the Seventh Session of the Association of Asian Parliaments for Peace (AAPP) in Tehran (Iran) in 2006.

The APA is based on the former AAPP, which was initiated by Bangladesh and established at the Conference of Asian Parliamentarians for Peace and Cooperation in Dhaka in 1999. Russia is one of the founding members of the AAPP.

At present, the APA comprises member parliaments of 42 states: Afghanistan, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, China, Cyprus, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Malaysia, Maldives, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan, Palau, the Palestinian National Authority, the Philippines, the Republic of Korea (ROK), Russia, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK), Tonga, Turkey, the United Arab Emirates (UAE), Uzbekistan, Vietnam, and Yemen. Sixteen countries and nine international organisations have observer status in the APA.

The focus of the APA is coordinating national parliaments’ efforts to address modern challenges, including through enhancing their role in promoting peace in the Asian region.

The APA’s supreme body is the Plenary, convened on an annual basis. The Plenary is composed of the President, four deputy presidents, members of the Executive Council and up to seven delegates from the national parliaments of the APA member states (Russia is represented by five delegates with voting status).

The APA President is elected by a majority of votes for a one-year or two-year term as suggested by the Plenary’s host parliament.

The top executive body is the Executive Council consisting of one representative from each of the APA member parliaments.

The APA Permanent Secretariat (headquartered in Tehran, Iran) headed by a Secretary-General (elected for a four-year term) prepares materials for the Executive Council and the Plenary, promptly distributes the necessary documents among the APA member states and observers and oversees the implementation of adopted resolutions.

Three standing committees work during the Plenary: political, economic and sustainable development, and cultural and social. In addition, sub-committees and commissions on separate issues can be formed.