Inter-parliamentary activities

Inter-Parliamentary Assembly of the Member States of the Commonwealth of Independent States (IPA CIS)

The IPA CIS is an international parliamentary organisation of the CIS countries that was established in 1992 to hold inter-parliamentary consultations and draft advisory (framework) legislation in order to streamline the CIS countries’ legislations and to create a common legal framework for the CIS. The IPA CIS is comprised of parliamentary delegations from Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Russia and Tajikistan, as well as Uzbekistan and Ukraine (the latter two delegations currently do not take part in the Assembly’s work). The parliamentary delegation of Afghanistan has observer status (since 2006).

IPA CIS activities are based on the Agreement on the IPA CIS (1992), the IPA CIS Convention (1995) and the IPA CIS Regulations. Plenary sessions convene twice a year. The governing body of the IPA CIS is the IPA CIS Council of the heads of parliament (parliament houses). The IPA CIS Chair is elected from among its members by secret ballot for a term of one year (since 1994, the IPA CIS Council has been chaired by the Federation Council Speaker; Valentina Matviyenko assumed the office on 11 November 2011). 

The Assembly has 10 standing commissions on legal affairs; the economy and finance; social policy and human rights; state development and local governments; defence and security; culture, information, tourism and sports; science and education; agrarian policy, natural resources and the environment; political affairs and international cooperation; budget and regulation; as well as the joint commission on coordinating national legislations on terrorism, crime and drug trafficking in the CIS.

Working at the Assembly is the International Institute for Monitoring Democracy Development (IPA CIS IIMDD, established 10 February 2006). On 22 November 2012, the IPA CIS Council established the CIS Youth Inter-Parliamentary Assembly, which comprises youth parliamentary delegations from the IPA CIS countries. The Secretariat of the IPA CIS Council is a standing body led by Secretary General. The membership of the Russian parliamentary delegation at the Assembly is determined by agreement between the houses of the Federal Assembly of the Russian Federation.