Inter-parliamentary activities

Nordic Council

The Nordic Council is a regional cooperation organisation uniting members of parliament from Northern European countries: Denmark, Finland (since 1955), Iceland, Norway and Sweden. The Council was established in 1952.

Members of the Nordic Council discuss issues concerning the Nordic region. The organisation performs consultative and oversight functions with regard to cooperation between countries or among all five member states, including autonomous territories, such as the Faroe Islands, Greenland and the Aaland Islands.

Members of the Nordic Council issue recommendations and voice their opinions to the Nordic Council of Ministers, which was established in 1971 as a cooperation venue for the governments of Scandinavian countries, as well as to national governments. The Nordic Council’s decisions are made in the form of recommendations and carry substantial weight. In most cases, the Nordic Council’s decisions evolve into specific actions on the part of the relevant governments, parliaments and the Nordic Council of Ministers.

In February 2018, the Nordic Council had 87 members, elected by national parliaments. The member countries have the following number of parliamentary representatives: Denmark – 16, Norway – 20, Finland – 18, Sweden – 20, Iceland – 7, Greenland – 2, the Aaland Islands – 2, and the Faroe Islands – 2. Representatives of Greenland, the Faroe and Aaland islands are elected by their respective local governments.

The Nordic Council’s bodies comprise the Plenary Session, the Presidium and committees.

The Plenary Session of the Nordic Council is convened once a year, usually in the 44th week of each year. Extraordinary or themed sessions can be convened by the Presidium or by request of at least two national governments or 25 elected representatives.

The Nordic Council member countries take turns hosting plenary sessions. Apart from members of parliament, these sessions involve representatives of Nordic countries’ governments. Plenary Session participants issue recommendations and opinions, set forth procedural regulations and stipulate the number of Nordic Council committees and their terms of reference. They also choose the time and place of the next session and elect Presidium members.

In between the annual plenary sessions the Presidium acts as the supreme decision-making body. Presidium members compile surveys on political issues, general policy issues, operation procedures and problems, as well as foreign policy and security matters. They also coordinate Nordic Council activities with events being organised by national parliaments and international organisations.

The Presidium consists of the President, the Vice-President and 12 members. Each country and party group can be represented in the Presidium. Presidium members report on their activities to the Plenary Session and approve the Nordic Council budget that is financed though contributions from the Nordic countries.

In addition, Presidium members represent the Nordic Council, make statements, convene extraordinary sessions, distribute costs between national parliamentary delegations, supervise the work of the Secretariat and the secretariats of delegations, maintain contact with other international organisations and convene meetings of the Nordic Council’s committees in between the Plenary Session’s meetings. If necessary, they establish interim commissions and working groups, draft the Plenary Session’s agenda and conduct information work.

In accordance with the current practice, the chairperson of the national delegation of a country hosting the current Plenary Session is appointed President of the Nordic Council. The Nordic Council’s Vice-President representing the same country as the President is also appointed.

The Helsinki Treaty sets forth the Organisation’s proceedings. Under the document, national governments, the Nordic Council of Ministers and Nordic Council members have the right to submit proposals to the Nordic Council.

All incoming proposals are submitted to the relevant Nordic Council committee and are later reviewed by Plenary Session participants on the basis of committee’s findings.

The Nordic Council has the following six specialised committees: Committee for Growth and Development in the Nordic Region consisting of 18 members, Committee for Knowledge and Culture in the Nordic Region (18 members), Committee for Welfare in the Nordic Region (5 members), Committee for a Sustainable Nordic Region (8 members), Control Committee (13), and Election Committee (7 members).

Committee members meet five to six times a year. Each committee may establish working groups for addressing specific tasks; the working groups and committee presidiums work between sessions and hold meetings that are timed with committees’ sessions. Committee members may also hold independent conferences, seminars and question and answer sessions.

The Nordic Council has observer status in the Inter-Parliamentary Union and is usually represented at its meetings. Nordic Council committees maintain regular contacts with the European Commission and the European Parliament. The Nordic Council has also signed a cooperation agreement with the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE). Under this agreement, both organisations attend their respective meetings. Representatives of Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxemburg also attend Nordic Council sessions.

Nordic Council committees maintain contact and exchange information with UNESCO, the World Trade Organisation and UNICEF. Members of the OSCE’s Parliamentary Assembly are invited to attend Nordic Council sessions.

The Nordic Council has initiated parliamentary cooperation in the Baltic Sea, the Arctic and Barents Sea regions.

Cooperation in the Baltic Sea region was launched in 1991. For this purpose, Nordic Council member states or countries of any parliament involved (at the proposal of their representatives during specific conferences) take turns hosting annual conferences. Apart from central-level parliamentary delegations, representatives of regional parliaments are invited from the conferences’ participating states, and a number of influential international organisations with observer status are also invited to attend the Baltic Sea Parliamentary Conference.

In 1993, the Nordic Council held a conference of parliamentarians from the Arctic region. In 1994, the Permanent Committee of Parliamentarians of the Arctic Region was established.

In addition to the activities of the Barents/Euro-Arctic Council, the Nordic Council held the first Barents Parliamentary Conference in 1999, which marked the start of parliamentary cooperation in the Barents Sea Region.

The Nordic Council’s structure and activities served as a model for establishing the parliamentary organisation of the three Baltic States called the Baltic Assembly. In 1992, the Nordic Council signed a cooperation agreement with the Baltic Assembly.

During its 1996 Reykjavik session, the Nordic Council officially formalised relations with neighbouring territories as an aspect of its activities. The term “neighbouring territories” includes Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, as well as northwestern regions of the Russian Federation (the Republic of Karelia, the Arkhangelsk, Kaliningrad, Murmansk and Leningrad regions and St Petersburg).

In practice, this cooperation has been ongoing since the early 1990s on the basis of working programmes.

The main cooperation areas include strengthening democracy and respect for human rights, environmental protection, sustainable development, rational use of natural resources, strengthening the foundations of the free market economy, streamlining education and preserving culture.

The Nordic Investment Bank (NIB), established on a shareholding basis by Nordic countries, plays an important role in expanding economic and environmental protection cooperation. The Bank’s goals are to issue loans and bank guarantees, in accordance with standard banking practice, for assisting investment projects and exports. In April 1997, an agreement on financial cooperation between Russia and the NIB was signed in Moscow. Russia ratified the agreement in March 1999.

Members of the Nordic Council of Ministers have drafted proposals regarding a new strategy for cooperation with neighbouring territories.

Information bureaus of the Nordic Council of Ministers play an important role in coordinating policy activities. The bureaus were established in the early 1990s in Vilnius, Riga and Tallinn.

A memorandum on establishing a similar bureau in St Petersburg was signed in August 1997. However, the bureau only opened in 2014. It focuses on searching for partners to implement cooperation projects with northwestern Russia and coordinating joint projects.

After prolonged coordination, a similar bureau was established in Kaliningrad in 2006. Nordic Council officials hoped that the chiefs of these bureaus would receive diplomatic status.

These information bureaus have stopped implementing a number of projects in Russia after the Russian Ministry of Justice listed them among foreign agents. The Nordic Council of Ministers website said its information bureau in St Petersburg had been forced to suspend its projects from 23 January 2015. The Kaliningrad information bureau has also suspended its work.

The delegation of the Russian Federation’s Federal Assembly has the status of an invited foreign guest during the Nordic Council’s plenary sessions.

In October and November 2018, Norway will host the 70th Nordic Council Plenary Session. This year, Michael Tetzschner was elected Nordic Council President.

The Secretariat of the Nordic Council Presidium, as well as the Secretariat of the Nordic Council of Ministers, are located in Copenhagen.

бета

Межпарламентская деятельность

Северный совет

Северный совет — региональная организация сотрудничества парламентариев стран Северной Европы — Дании, Исландии, Норвегии, Швеции и Финляндии (с 1955 г.). Учреждена в 1952 г.

Деятельность Северного совета заключается в выступлениях с инициативами по проблематике северного региона. Организация является консультативно-контрольным органом по вопросам, касающимся сотрудничества между отдельными или всеми пятью государствами, включая автономные территории (Фарерские острова, Гренландия и Аландские острова).

Северный совет дает рекомендации и высказывает мнение Совету министров Северных стран (СМСС создан в 1971 г. как форум сотрудничества правительств скандинавских стран) и правительствам. Решения Северного совета носят форму рекомендаций и имеют значительные вес. В большинстве случаев его решения приобретают форму конкретных действий со стороны соответствующих правительств, парламентов и СМСС.

Северный совет состоит из 84 членов (данные на февраль 2017 г.), избираемых национальными парламентами. Парламент Дании представлен 16 депутатами, Норвегии – 20, Финляндии – 18, Швеции – 20, Исландии – 4, Гренландии – 2, Аландских островов – 2, Фарерских островов – 2 (представители Гренландии, Фарерских и Аландских островов избираются органами местного самоуправления.

Органами Северного совета являются Пленарная сессия, Президиум и комитеты.

Пленарная сессия Северного совета созывается раз в год (обычно в 
44-ую неделю года). Внеочередная сессия или тематические сессии проводятся по решению Президиума или по требованию, по крайней мере, двух правительств или 25 избранных представителей.

Сессии Северного совета проводятся на основе ротации в странах — членах, и в них помимо депутатов участвуют представители правительств северных стран. Пленарная сессия принимает рекомендации, мнения, определяет правила процедуры, количество и сферы деятельности комитетов Северного совета, место и время следующей сессии, избирает Президиум.

В период между ежегодными сессиями Президиум является высшим органом по принятию решений. Президиум готовит общий обзор по политическим вопросам, вопросам общей линии деятельности, рабочей процедуры и проблемам, касающихся внешней политики и безопасности. Президиум также обеспечивает координацию деятельности Северного совета с мероприятиями, проводимыми национальными парламентами и международными организациями.

Президиум состоит из Президента, вице-президента и 12 членов. Каждая страна и партийная группа может быть представлена в Президиуме. Президиум представляет Пленарной сессии отчет о своей деятельности и принимает бюджет Северного совета, который формируется за счет дифференцированных взносов.

В функции Президиума также входит представлять Северный совет, выступать с заявлениями, созывать внеочередные сессии, распределять расходы между делегациями национальных парламентов, руководить работой Секретариата и секретариатов делегаций, поддерживать контакты с другими международными организациями, созывать заседания комитетов Северного совета в период между заседаниями Пленарной сессии, формировать в случае необходимости временные комиссии и рабочие группы, вырабатывать повестку дня Пленарной сессии, информационная работа.

В соответствии со сложившейся практикой Президентом Северного совета на каждой очередной сессии назначается председатель национальной делегации страны, в которой проходит сессия. Также назначается вице-президент Северного совета (представляет ту же страну, что и Президент).

Вопросы процедуры организации оговорены в Хельсинкском договоре, в соответствии с которым право выдвигать предложения в Северном совете имеют правительства, СМСС и члены Северного совета.

Все поступившие предложения направляются в соответствующий комитет Северного совета и затем рассматриваются на основе заключения комитета на Пленарной сессии.

В Северном совете функционируют шесть профильных комитетов:

· комитет по образованию и культуре;

· комитет по устойчивому Северному региону;

· комитет по процветанию и развитию;

· комитет по благосостоянию;

· контрольный комитет;

· комитет по выборам.

Комитеты собираются на свои заседания пять-шесть раз в год. В рамках комитетов и между ними могут создаваться рабочие группы для решения конкретных задач. Рабочие группы и президиумы комитетов собираются между сессиями и в связи с регулярными заседаниями комитетов. Комитеты также могут проводить независимые конференции, семинары и встречи по схеме вопросы-ответы.

Северный совет имеет статус наблюдателя в Межпарламентском союзе и, как правило, представлен на заседаниях МПС. Комитеты Северного совета поддерживают регулярные контакты с КЕС и Европарламентом. Северный совет имеет соглашение о сотрудничестве с ПАСЕ. В соответствии с этим соглашением обе организации принимают участие в заседаниях друг друга. Представители стран Бенилюкса также участвуют в сессиях Северного совета.

Комитеты Северного совета поддерживают контакты и обмениваются информацией с ЮНЕСКО, ВТО и ЮНИСЕФ. На сессии Северного совета приглашается Парламентская Ассамблея ОБСЕ.

Северный совет является инициатором парламентского сотрудничества по трем северным направлениям: балтийскому, арктическому и баренцеву.

В 1991 году было инициировано парламентское сотрудничество в регионе Балтийского моря, в рамках которого проводятся ежегодные конференции поочередно в каждой стране Северного совета или в стране любого участвующего парламента по предложению его представителей на конференции. На Парламентской конференции Балтийского моря кроме парламентских делегаций центрального уровня приглашаются также и представители региональных парламентов государств-участников конференции, ряд авторитетных международных организаций со статусом наблюдателя.

Северный совет в 1993 г. провел конференцию парламентариев Арктического региона, результатом которой стало образование в 1994 г. Постоянного комитета парламентариев Арктического региона.

В дополнение к деятельности Совета Баренцева/Евроарктического региона Северный совет в 1999 г. провел первую Конференцию парламентариев Баренцева региона, явившуюся началом парламентского сотрудничества в регионе Баренцева моря.

Структура и деятельность Северного совета послужили моделью для образования парламентской организации стран Балтии — Балтийской Ассамблеи, с которой Северный совет в 1992 г. подписал соглашение о сотрудничестве.

На сессии в Рейкьявике в 1996 г. Северный совет официально закрепил отношения с сопредельными территориями Севера в качестве одного из направлений своей деятельности. Понятие «сопредельные территории» включает в себя Эстонию, Латвию, Литву, а также северо-западные регионы Российской Федерации (Республику Карелия, Архангельскую, Калининградскую, Мурманскую и Ленинградскую области, Санкт-Петербург).

На практике такое сотрудничество осуществляется уже с начала
1990-х гг. на основе принимаемых рабочих программ.

Главные сферы взаимодействия: укрепление демократии и соблюдения гражданских прав, охрана окружающей среды, обеспечение устойчивого развития, рациональное использования природных ресурсов, укрепление основ рыночной экономики, совершенствование образования, сохранение культуры.

Важную роль в развитии экономического и природоохранного сотрудничества играет созданный за счет долевых взносов северных стран Северный инвестиционный банк. Цель деятельности банка – предоставление кредитов и банковских гарантий в соответствии с обычной банковской практикой для содействия инвестиционным проектам и экспорту. В апреле 1997 года в Москве подписано соглашение о финансовом сотрудничестве с Северным инвестиционным банком (ратифицировано нами в марте 1999 г.).

В рамках СМСС подготовлены предложения к новой Стратегии по сотрудничеству с сопредельными территориями.

Важную роль в координации программной деятельности призваны играть Информационные бюро Совета министров Северных стран. Такие бюро были учреждены в начале 1990-х годов в Вильнюсе, Риге и Таллине.

В августе 1997 г. подписан Меморандум об учреждении аналогичного бюро в Санкт-Петербурге. Открытие Информбюро состоялось только
в 2014 году; оно занималось поиском партнеров для сотрудничества с Северо-Западом России и также координировало совместные проекты.

После длительного согласования с 2006 г. создано аналогичное бюро и в Калининграде. Северяне рассчитывали на придание дипломатического статуса руководителям таких бюро.

Однако на данный момент эти информбюро остановили реализацию ряда проектов в России после включения их Минюстом РФ в реестр иностранных агентов. На сайте СМСС сообщалось, что «в связи с техническими причинами информационное бюро Совета министров Северных Стран в Санкт-Петербурге вынуждено приостановить реализацию текущих проектов с 23 января 2015 г. на неопределенное время». В Калининграде работа информбюро также приостановлена.

Делегация Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации на Пленарных сессиях Северного совета обладает статусом приглашенного иностранного гостя.

Очередная 69-я Пленарная сессия Северного совета пройдет в октябре – ноябре 2017 г на Аландских островах. Президентом Серного совета
на 2017 г. является Председатель Лагтинга Аландских о-вов Бритт Лундберг.

Секретариат Президиума Северного совета, как и секретариат СМСС находится в Копенгагене.

В состав делегации Совета Федерации в делегации Федерального Собрания Российской Федерации в Северном совете входят:

— Кононова Людмила Павловна — первый заместитель председателя Комитета Совета Федерации по социальной политике, руководитель делегации

Акимов Алексей Константинович — заместитель председателя Комитета Совета Федерации по федеративному устройству, региональной политике, местному самоуправлению и делам Севера

Важенин Юрий Иванович — член Комитета Совета Федерации по экономической политике 

Отке Анна Ивановна — член Комитета Совета Федерации по социальной политике

Пономарев Михаил Николаевич — заместитель председателя Комитета Совета Федерации по экономической политике